We do not give much thought to getting around in a vehicle until we lose our driving privileges.
In the state of Colorado, there are various ways to lose a drivers’ license as well as some confusion over how to get it back.
Suspensions for points
When the Department of Motor Vehicles receives the convictions you have for speeding or other traffic infractions, you will see points added to your record. If you acquire too many points as the result of traffic tickets, you will face suspension of your driving privileges. For example, if you are a minor between the ages of 18 and 21 and you accumulate nine or more points within 12 months, the state will suspend your drivers’ license. If you are an adult aged 21 or older, you can expect license suspension if you acquire 12 or more points within 12 months.
Red licence for non-alcohol-related offenses
You may qualify for a probationary “red license” that will allow you to have driving privileges for specific reasons only, such as driving back and forth to work or school. Law enforcement may monitor your driving activities to ensure that you are not deviating from the requirements. Additionally, if you should get a ticket for a moving violation, you will lose your probationary driving privileges immediately.
Reinstatement for a DUI conviction
Even if you have a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol, you may qualify for a 30- to 60-day license reinstatement if you adhere to the following requirements:
- Completion of an alcohol certification form
- Enrollment in an alcohol education program
- Payment of the appropriate fines and fees
- Installation of an ignition interlock device on any vehicle you own
Your driving history
The state of Colorado maintains driver records for the past seven years, and driver histories that go even further back. The DMV will consider such information iwhen deciding whether to grant you a probationary license or approve license reinstatement.