Aggressive DUI & Criminal Defense Attorneys Fighting on Your Behalf
click for free consultation

Will You Lose Your CDL After Getting a DUI in Colorado?

click for free consultation
Posted By McAdams Law | March 10 2023 | DUI

Commercial driver’s licenses, also known as CDLs, are crucially important to those that drive vehicles as their job. For many, the looming question of when, or if, they will lose their CDL after a DUI charge is a matter of having a stable career and no income at all. Reach out to a Fort Collins DUI defense attorney from the McAdams Law Office today to learn if you can lose a CDL after a DUI in Colorado.

What Is Considered a DUI and What Are its Consequences?

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a charge that is not taken lightly in the state of Colorado. Certain criteria laid out by state legislation dictate whether or not someone is eligible to be charged with a DUI:

  • An individual is considered “under the influence” if they are found to have a blood or breath alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 or above.
  • Someone can be charged with a DUI if they display signs of being substantially incapable of safely operating a vehicle – even if their BAC is below 0.08.
  • Refusing to submit a BAC test while showing indications of impairment or being under the influence can also lead to an arrest and a DUI charge.

A DUI is initially considered a misdemeanor unless someone has been convicted of the crime more than three times in a row. Penalties can range from 5 days to a year or more in jail, thousands of dollars in fines, community service time, education classes, and even a driver’s license suspension. Certain cases could also see the suspension of a commercial driver’s license (CDL) as well.

How Does a DUI Affect my CDL?

CDLs are heavily managed by every state across the nation. The purpose of such heavy oversight is due to the perception that by ensuring that those with CDLs are clean of serious driving-related charges, other people on the road will be kept safe and out of harm’s way. DUIs are no exception, as several factors can lead someone to have their CDL suspended.

  • Any type of DUI charge while driving a commercial or personal vehicle
  • Refusing a blood or breathalyzer test
  • A BAC of 0.04% or higher
  • Leaving the scene of an accident

DUI charges carry specific recommendations for how long someone’s CDL should be suspended, should a commercial driver be convicted:

  • One DUI: CDL license revocation of 1–3 years if the DUI occurred while operating a commercial vehicle. If found to be driving under the influence while transporting hazardous materials, the suspension will last three years.
  • Two or more DUIs: Lifetime revocation of one’s CDL, with eligibility for reinstatement after 10 years.
  • Operation of a vehicle with a Schedule 1 Controlled Substance: Lifetime revocation of one’s CDL.

What to Do if Charged With a DUI in Colorado

While a DUI can seem career-ending, it doesn’t have to be. Reach out to a Greeley DUI defense attorney from the McAdams Law Office today to learn more. Our firm can be reached today by calling 970-353-0000 or following this link to our online contact form.

Request Free Consultation

  • *required fields
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.