Law enforcement reports traffic infractions to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. Some offenses result in points on your driver’s license record, which can lead to the loss of your driving privileges.
Learn about the types of tickets and incidents that can result in license suspension in Colorado.
The court suspends the licenses of drivers younger than 17 who get at least 6 points in 12 months. The threshold suspension is 9 points in 12 months for drivers ages 18 to 21 and 12 points in 12 months for drivers ages 21 and older. If you find yourself in this situation, you can contest your suspension in court.
Most moving violations carry 1 to 3 points. However, you could receive an immediate suspension for a serious offense such as driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Some of the infractions that carry DMV points in Colorado include:
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Racing with another driver
- Speeding over posted limits
- Driving while ability impaired
- Attempting to elude a law enforcement officer
- Driving recklessly or carelessly
- Failing to stop for a school bus
- Passing another car illegally
- Driving on the wrong side of the road
- Failing to signal or yield, including giving emergency vehicles the right of way
Different thresholds apply for those categorized as chauffeurs. Colorado uses this term for anyone who drivers for a living. If you drive a taxi or work for a rideshare company such as Uber, you should understand how your employment affects your driving privileges if you get a ticket.