The state of Colorado has doubled down on the effort of keeping drunk drivers off the road.
If law enforcement arrests you on suspicion of drunk driving and you are convicted, you face serious penalties and will start the next phase of your life with a felony on your record.
Looking at the consequences
Under the current Colorado law, a conviction for a fourth DUI is a class 4 felony. If the court orders probation, a General Assembly bill from 2017 requires that you serve 90 to 180 days in the county jail. If an alternative sentencing program is available, you will serve between 120 days and two years in county jail. You must also complete 48 to 120 hours of public service and participate in alcohol driving safety education or treatment at your own expense. In addition, you will pay a fine that could be as high as $500,000 and serve three years of mandatory parole.
Looking at your defense
A strong defense will include a thorough examination of the circumstances surrounding your arrest. For example, were there possible administrative errors? If you took a breath test, was the breathalyzer working properly? Were you taking medication that could have affected the results?
Looking at your future
If the judge who hears your case believes that you are a viable candidate for rehabilitation, you will likely avoid jail time, but a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol will affect your future goals. Even a DUI misdemeanor is problematic when it comes to employment since most recruiters perform background checks on applicants. However, keep in mind that if you have a DUI felony conviction, you stand to lose certain personal liberties. For instance, you will not be able to vote in an election. You cannot obtain a passport, and you cannot purchase a firearm. You may also lose your right to any federal help such as federal housing assistance. The penalties for DUI felony in Colorado are harsh, and given the many issues you face, you will want the best outcome possible for your case.