Colorado statutes outlaw disorderly conduct. The goal of outlawing disorderly conduct is to protect the safety and peace of the community in public places such as movie theaters, shopping centers, restaurants and places of worship.
Each state has unique definitions and penalties for disorderly conduct. It is important to know what behaviors constitute a disorderly conduct offense in Colorado and the punishments you may face.
If you engage in a brawl or physical altercation with someone else in public, the police may arrest you for disorderly conduct. However, the law provides exceptions for professional or amateur contests of athletic skill, such as a wrestling or karate match. Fighting constitutes a class 3 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of $750 and six months of jail time.
Displaying a deadly weapon
This element of disorderly conduct makes it unlawful to showcase a deadly weapon or any item that causes another person to reasonably believe it is a deadly weapon. It is also illegal to vocalize the fact that you are armed with a dangerous weapon in a public place with the intent to alarm other people. This offense is a class 2 misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine of $1,000 and 12 months of jail time.
Making unreasonable noise and offensive comments
You may not realize that using certain words and making too much noise may cause you to face criminal charges. If your actions threaten the safety of others or cause alarm, you may be guilty of a class 1 petty offense. This is punishable by a $500 fine and six months of jail time. If you make the noise or comments and disrupt a funeral, or your intent is to disturb someone who is at a funeral, then the offense becomes a class 2 misdemeanor.